Under No Obligation

Do you have to like my work? As I share the release of my debut e-book, Sara’s Last Resort, with friends and family, I’m suspecting I might back them into a corner.

I found the right words to explain things, though, as I spoke to a colleague at my Book Release Party. I’ve wanted to be published so my work would be available to anyone whom it might interest. For me to muscle through and finish the work already suggests I was interested in the story line. I took my automotive experience, applied it to fictional characters with related backstory in a what-if circumstance where the events agreed with my preferences. Basically, I wrote something I would like to read. Man, I miss the mountains. It’s great to re-visit them during editing.

My words had greater clarity, it seemed, when I explained off the hip while holding a White Russian. 🙂 On a side note, I found slicing and dicing my ms to meet my editor’s request of a faster pace opening proved easier to accomplish with a tumbler of Tullamore Dew. It eased the pain.

Additionally, I am thankful for a recent road trip with my toddler son. Before leaving, I read editor comments. Then, as I drove, I kept the radio turned off and allowed my brain rumination time. It generated great results in the less restricted mental meadow where I held no pen or paper. (At that time, I was fueled by caffeine.)

However, when I did my final read-through prior to Release Day, I aimed for sobriety as I scoured for potential typos because I wanted to avoid anything throwing you out of the story.

#WhyIwrite also has a lot to do with tracking my thought sequence. I leave a bread crumb trail from where I began and it helps me figure out where I’d intended to go as opposed to where I ended up. Although, I usually find myself appreciating the direction my characters take.

In summary, you don’t have to like the content, but I do wish you find my writing style–at least in my fictional work–doesn’t read disjointedly. I swear it is too much effort for me to try to sort my brain out than ask you to do so as well. A favorite quote of mine is credited to Mark Twain (versus his alternate identity): “Life does not consist mainly, or even largely, of facts and happenings. It consists mainly of the storm of thought that is forever flowing through one’s head.”

Okay, professional posture and maybe I can feel this is satisfactorily composed. It appears I wanted to share some tricks I found useful during my editing process and also self-revelation post-release day. Telling friends and family of my accomplishment also motivates me to keep writing, because if I don’t, I’ll have no answer when the next time I see them, they rely on my hobby/career as a fallback topic and ask what I’ve written lately. 🙂 I have a few ms’ up my sleeve already.

Leave a Reply

